Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2008

torrential is on a distinguished road
1982 Sabre 28 or 1986 Catalina 27

I am new to sailing and looking to buy my first boat for Florida intracoastal and coastal cruising. I know that Sabres are quality boats but nearly double the price of the Catalina 27. I've sailed a Sabre and am becoming familiar with its characteristics. I have not sailed a Catalina. Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-26-2008
Broad Reachin'

kwaltersmi is on a distinguished road
I'm fairly familiar with both of these boats. I know you said the Sabre is double the price of the Cat, but what exact prices are you talking about? What engines are involved?

I've seen several C27's in good shape for $7-10k, while the Sabre 28 seems to command something closer to $15k.

How much overnighting do you plan to do on the boat? The Catalina offers a very roomy cabin for 27 feet (particularly the drop-down dinette version), in fact, roomier than the 28 foot Sabre. But the Sabre is a better constructed boat.

Do you plan to keep the boat long-term or will you be moving up in a few years? Long-term the Sabre might be a better boat. For even money, I'd definately take the Sabre.

Here's what Jack Horner and BoatUS says about both boats...

Catalina 27 Review: BoatUS.com: Boat Reviews by Jack Hornor, N.A. - Catalina 27

Sabre 28 Review: BoatUS.com: Boat Reviews by Jack Hornor, N.A. - Sabre 28

As a third option, you might also consider the Ericson 28.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 03-26-2008