Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2002

mowgli is on a distinguished road
Race Boats

I am new to sailing, and bit bad by the bug.
I am crew on a variety of boats, just to get
a feel of what I want to buy.I have been racing white sails, but just had the opportunity to have a taste of the Santana
The fleet here is fairly hardcore.If there was a choice to made between boat or family,
I am sure the tears would raise the water a foot as they all cast off.

Since I cannot find a Santana 525 for sale,what other boats would be well built,
and fast enough to be a challenge to a 525?
We will not factor skill in here for obvious reasons.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-25-2002

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Race Boats

The Santana 525 is a nice little boat. I believe that the design began life as a IOR 1/4 tonner but quickly became a cult favorite as a West Coast one design class. Like many of these 1970''s era racers they had very basic cruising accomodations,usually just enough to race in MORC (Midget Ocean Racing Conference).

If there is a one design fleet of 525''s in your area then I would encourage you to try to find a 525 for sale. Nothing inproves sail trim and boat handling skills like sailing in a one design fleet. Besides for the ability to do side by side comparisons with identical boats, most fleets make and effort to help its new members improve their skills by offering advice and sometimes loaning skilled crew members for practicing sessions or even during racing.

Yacht World lists a couple of 525''s for sale http://www.yachtworld.com/listing/yw_listing_detail.jsp?checked_boats=735472&checked _boats=979383&currency=USD&units=Feet