Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2002

smsather is on a distinguished road
Negotiating for a new boat

I have just read most of the threads posted on this board over the past couple months. I am not sure why, after reading, I am still brave (probably stupid) enough to still post something but here goes ...

Because of several unrelated reasons, I have not had a boat for about 5 years. Before that I had a series of boats all of which I purchased used. I am now seriously looking for a boat, most likely spending between $150-175K.

I have read plenty on new v. used, I have read plenty of opinions of Beneteaus, Hunters, Tartans, J''s, and others. I promise I am considering all of that good advice.

My question is how much negotiating power does a buyer have when purchasing a new boat? I have plenty of experience buying used boats, but none buying a new one. How much is a dealer expecting to take off his orginal quote on a new, pretty well equiped boat? Is the base price really firm? Prices on some of the electronics and other options seem to be rather inflated to me, but maybe installing modern stuff is a lot harder than it use to be way back when. If one goes for a off the shelf production boats (ok, here you can read Beneteau), is checking out multiple brokers worthwhile or are they a closed network?

And last, so I get all of my questions out of the way right up front, if you are going to buy a new boat, would it be better/worse/the same to do so at a major boat show or any other particular time of the year? I have waited this long for a boat, I can probably wait another six months. (I have always bought my used boats near the end of the season and felt I have had a lot more negotiating power at that time.)

Thanks -- Steven
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-12-2002