SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

A Picture of My New Boat

6K views 38 replies 31 participants last post by  mccary 
#1 ·
Thanks everybody for the encouraging words and congratulations. I am psyched, as is my wife and kids. Now, the $ drain begins... I do have some $ to play with so I need a new VHF and a chartplotter. Suggestions? Oh yeah, here she is.

montenido

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Nice...I see many happy days ahead.

#8 ·
Great looking boat...enjoy!

For nav and general eectronics I am a huge Raymarine fan, but I have to admit I have limited experience with the other big brands.

For a VHF I recommend this one

I have it on my boat and it has every feature imagiable....Class D DSC, hailer capable, WHAM capable, color screen...and the best feature is every channel has a reference name like Distress, Commercial, Ship to Ship, Ship to Shore so you can quickly and easily Navigate around the channels.

Enjoy!

#11 ·
I have it on my boat and it has every feature imagiable....Class D DSC, hailer capable, WHAM capable, color screen...and the best feature is every channel has a reference name like Distress, Commercial, Ship to Ship, Ship to Shore so you can quickly and easily Navigate around the channels.
Congrats, wonderful looking boat...

I'll recommend Standard Horizon GX3000S to the contrary of 625SE... 3000x has all the bells and whistles on the 625S except the color screen, which I don't favor much due to pixel loss by time, at an affordable price... I bought mine for $150 at defender March sale...
3000x has the fog horn bells and whistles, customizable (is that a word?) channel names, loudhailer(with optional 40W speaker which is about 20$) and options like phone style handset,RAM(remote access microphone) etc...