Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2008

amanecer is on a distinguished road
Ghost 13 for single-handed sailing

I am new to sailing and want to buy a sailboat that I can trailer in and set up by myself, and that I can right on my own should I go over. There is a Ghost 13 for sale. Does anyone know if this boat might work for me? I want a big enough boat to take out a couple of friends, but small enough that I can get it off and on the trailer and get the mast and sails up myself. I am a 5'4" gal.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-17-2008

marcusn is on a distinguished road
Ghost 13

Way back when, the first boat I could talk my dad into buying for us (my brother, dad and me) was a Ghost 13.

I have to say, I did NOT like this boat much at all. It is far too tippy feeling for my liking. It's also not too easy to right should you dump. One day my dad (~185lbs) capsized, and stood on the centerboard to right the boat, and the centerboard split down the middle seam!

We used the boat sparingly for 2 years, and upgraded to a much larger Venture 21, and had a ton of fun with that 'budget' oriented boat.

If you're looking at older boats, you may consider looking into various O'Day daysailers. They can easily accomodate a small family, and are fairly stable (to my knowledge).

Best of luck,

Marcus
Old 06-17-2008
Poltergeist

poltergeist is on a distinguished road
Question for you ...

What kind of money would you like to spend? That would help us with other recommendations.

Kurt
Old 06-17-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice