Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2008

dodgydingo is on a distinguished road
Help finding a suitable boat to live-aboard.

I was hoping I could get your help finding a suitable boat to liveaboard here in Port Credit (Ontario,Canada). I am very new to sailing and am currently in the middle of taking keelboat sailing lessons at a local college.

I live by a marina and have been thinking about moving out of this apartment and into a nice sailboat. After scouring this forum and many blogs, I have heard good things about Niagara 35, Albergs and Ontarios. My budget (if I get financing approved) is around 40-50k.

I have found a nice Niagara that happend to have major delamination problems which I mentioned in another post. So I am now wondering before I make this life-changing decision whether I would be better off avoiding balsa core hulls to begin with.

I have been attracted to this Northern 37 Ketch I found on Yachtworld (just do a search and you will find it right away, named Kinship). But since I have been told it is not a common boat, I can not find info on it if its solid fiberglass or balsa core.

What do you think of this boat. It seems like a heck of a lot of boat that would make life on it quite comfortable. I understand it may be a bit hard for me to sail but I do have a girlfriend that has grown up around boats that will help ease me into the sailing lifestyle.

I am open to any boat kinds, but was hopeing to find one that had more to it than just one single room. I like the idea of having at least a second room to make it feel like theres more to it which is why this Ketch (with an aft berth) appeals to me.

I am just terrified of doing a wrong choice and finding that the 30 year old boat I pick has a rotten core.

Any suggestions is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-23-2008
Telstar 28