Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2008

dodgydingo is on a distinguished road
Survey found moisture in deck and cockpit

I had posted some messages earlier about a 1978 Hunter Cherubini (33foot) boat that I was about to purchase. The price is excellent and the interior was totally redone by the owner who happens to make cabinets by trade.

Unfortunately by the time I had sent the offer to the broker, the owner had already accepted another offer conditional of survey. I was pretty dissapointed however.. the other interested party had the survey done and walked away from the deal because of found moisture issues.

According to the broker, the boats hull and inside is fine, but there was moisture found on the balsa cored deck around the fittings. The cockpit however was very very moist and would start delaminating.

Here is my question.. should I also walk away from this boat or use this as a chance to make an already good priced boat a little better deal and fix the issues myself.

I have done some research and to rebed the fixtures seems like a job I could do in the winter while it is covered. (I plan to live aboard the boat year round). The cockpit area I am not sure... I assume its the same but a lot more of it.

The broker seems to think this is a minor issue and that I could even leave it for a year or two. The previous interested party was said to be newbies and not interested in restoring it. (By the way I am a complete newbie to sailing having only just recently finished basic keelboat sailing lessons not to long ago. The broker thinks professionally fixing the issues would be $7kish but the surveyor gave an off the cuff estimate of $20-30k

One final note. I do not have the survey yet as the other interested party that walked is tryiing to sell it to me for $800. I offered $400 and am waiting for the response.