Please Advise me about a sailboat with an older Diesel Engine - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2008

catfish26 is on a distinguished road
Please Advise me about a sailboat with an older Diesel Engine

I am a newbie at sailing and we are considering a 25 foot Bayfield with a 76 Yanmar YSE8 diesel engine. The engine was rebuilt in 1993. It had new heads and mufflers in 2007.

Here's my question, should I avoid this engine? Is it 32 years old or is it 15 years old? My dreams are modest...I only want to sail in gentle winds with my family on weekends...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Glen
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-08-2008

Ippa2 is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I'll chime in on this one, but first I'VE NEVER OWNED A DIESEL. So take this with that warning.

If the diesel has been well maintained and the up keep has been done annually, I would think the engine wouldn't be a deal breaker. Diesels are know for their longevity, when compared to gas, as long as they're not neglected. Also if this boat is really "the one" for you, and the only thing stopping you is the older engine, you could always have a diesel mechanic perform a mechanical survery on the diesel engine. This will at least give you some peace of mind if the survey comes back good and if it doesn't come back good, maybe give you a little leverage in asking for a lower price...