Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2008
Senior Moment

doubleeboy is on a distinguished road
Ericson 39B

Hello All,

In our quest for a boat I have considered Ericsons in the 35-39' range. I have no first had experience with the 39B or 39. The 39B's lines and interior are very much to my liking. As they made very few of these boats there is not a whole lot of info out there that I can find.

In this thread:

http://www.sailnet.com/forums/buying...specifics.html

the owner states how he loves his boat but that it backs up under power very poorly in terms of steering.

Could anyone comment on why this would be?

Thank you
michael

If anyone is wondering why I am now looking at boats this size after my previous questions about a C&C 30, the short answer is my wife spent a week on 30' Hunter with a girl friend recently..... she called my after first night on board and said "your right, find us a bigger boat, much bigger!"

I Love that woman!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-11-2008
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleeboy View Post
.....the owner states how he loves his boat but that it backs up under power very poorly in terms of steering.

Could anyone comment on why this would be? .....
...because most sailboats back up poorly under power..I am not sure of the science but assume it is due to the small props/low power combo producing as much prop walk as reverse thrust...not much of a reason to put a boat model down. Some boats and some propellers are better, for example I find my MaxProp provides enough thrust in reverse that backing is not a problem.