SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Best Cruiser: Endeavour VS Hunter (Opinions???)

13K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  xort 
#1 ·
Best Cruiser: Endeavour VS Hunter (Opinions???)

I'm a novice sailor looking to purchase my first sailboat. And am considering two models:
Endeavour 43cc (Ketch) from 1979 - models
Hunter 42cc (Sloop) from 1995 - models

I looking for opinions between these two boats or even other suggestions. I need a center cockpit vessel within this size range. Mostly for coastal and Caribbean cruising and possibly some heavy blue water cruising as well. (No draft larger the 5'3".)

Both these vessels have similar layouts, but I hear the Endeavour is heavy and a slow cruiser, but a stronger blue water cruiser then the Hunter. Both models used sell on average between $100 - 150k. Considering the Hunter is 15 years newer...so what is the better buy? Better Boat? (considering all the variables)

Opinions & thoughts wanted...Many thanks!

#2 ·
This isn't what you want to hear, but others will no doubt echo it: if you're really a novice, both are biting off more than you can chew, especially the two-masted Ketch, and you're a long way from safely cruising in open ocean. Also, why the insistence on a center cockpit?

I'm close to buying a first boat too, and while I'd say I'm maybe a little past novice (but not all that much) I wouldn't think about trying to skipper anything bigger than a 30' sloop at this point.

And another thing, when drafting that $100-150k budget, did you factor in the moorage and maintenance costs of such a large vessel? Eg., you're looking at the better part of $1000 just to have it hauled out and surveyed. $1500+ to have it bottom-painted every year or two. The big diesel's going to need maintenance too.

#3 ·