Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2008

piratemike is on a distinguished road
Hunter 29.5 vs. Beneteau 281?

I have 2 boats I'm going to be looking at, a 1996 Hunter 29.5 and a 1998 Beneteau 281. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts or experiences with either boat or even about buying one this time of year. I am in the NYC area so the season is coming to an end soon. I figure that might allow me to get better deal on a boat, but probably means I will have it put right into winter storage.

A bit about what I'm looking for.. I'm a novice and looking for a boat I can day or weekend cruise either singlehanded or with an inexperienced crew. I'm also more concerned more with a comfortable ride then speed as I have a young son who I want to be comfortable on the boat.

Thanks in advance for any comments.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-20-2008

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
Not personally familiar with these models, but either should make a fine first boat. Buy the one that you like and is in the best condition. And of course, get a survey.

You should be able to negotiate a good price this time of year. Winter storage runs about $1000 to $1500 on Long Island for a boat that size. You should be able to use that as part of your negotiation as the current owner is looking at laying that out.

Good Luck!
Old 09-20-2008
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
Buy your boat when you find one that you feel is right for you, if that's this fall fine, if not, whenever. Given the storgae and carrying costs you don't necessarily make out by buying in the Fall...buy when you have the right boat.