Looking at 25-30ft boats suitable for weekending on the Great Lakes - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2008
Always learning...

jwoytek is on a distinguished road
Looking at 25-30ft boats suitable for weekending on the Great Lakes

Hello. I'm fairly new here. I have some sailing knowledge and own a single-person dinghy that I've been sailing for a bit. I want to do some small-time cruising and sailing with my wife, so I'm looking to get a 25-30ft boat suitable for weekend cruising on the Great Lakes. I'm located a couple of hours away from Erie, PA, so that would likely be my home port.

Our budget for a sailboat is meager, considering that we also need to get a slip and winter storage. I have two boats that I am considering right now that are about in the same price range. One is a 1979 Hunter 25, and the other is a 1975 O'Day 27. Both seem to be ready-to-go (I say "seem" because I have currently only seen pictures, and have not had a survey or personal look at either boat yet). The Hunter is a sale-by-owner, and the O'Day is through a broker. The O'Day is slightly more expensive, but I've had an easier time getting information on the Hunter because the owner is actually responding to my email. The broker on the O'Day has been OK, but generally not all that forthcoming.