Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2008

tv195 is on a distinguished road
Buy a boat in th US as an alien

Hey there,
I work in the States so I am a US resident but not a citizen. I found out that I could buy a sail boat here, sail it under the flag of my European home country and get a Cruising license valid for one year. The only thing is, it say in the fine print of the cruising license application 'the boat is dutiable if the owner is a US resident'- thus I was wondering if this applies only if I enter the US with a foreign vessel or also if I buy the vessel already here?
Thanks a lot in advance for any comments,
Ch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-16-2008

CrazyRu is on a distinguished road
Why do you want to sail the boat under Europinian Flag? Do you want excessive attention from locals, including Coast Guard?
You can register the boat in a state of your residence, very much like a car.
As alien you cannot get Coast Guard documentation (federal registration), but you will not need it anywhere around here...
Old 10-17-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
If he wants to sail to other countries, state registration isn't going to cut it. If he buys the vessel or enters the country with a foreign vessel and LIVES in the USA normally, he has to pay duties on it AFAIK. Can't have it both ways.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps