Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2008

SpeedAgent is on a distinguished road
Wet interior-bottom of bulkhead

Hello,

I'm new to the forum (will be intro'ing myself in next thread) and I am looking at a Cal 27' T2. I saw the boat this past weekend and really liked it. I am having an inspector come out to the boat with me tomorrow to thoroughly check it over. One thing I did notice was a moldy spot and dampness on the very bottom of the bulkhead. There was also a damp spot in another area, but I did not take pictures so I can't really describe it.

I'm new to sailboats so I'm looking for advice on what potential issues or trouble spots I should be aware of. Is a leak in this area typical of most older boats or typical of a particulare issue? I will be doing all of the refurb myself if I get this.

Also, I'm not exactly sure it is a T2. The ad says it, but I am having trouble finding much in the way of information on this boat.

If anyone has any advice please let me know.

Regards,

Chris
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-17-2008
Broad Reachin'

kwaltersmi is on a distinguished road
Chris,

Welcome to the forums. I'm sure you'll find a lot of help here.

Wet bulkheads can often mean leaky chainplates, since many boats use bulkheads as anchoring points for the chainplates. Chainplates (and most deck hardware) are prone to leaking on almost any older boat and should be inspected carefully. Of course, the wet bulkhead could also be the result of any number of other issues such as leaking portlights, leaking hatches, bilge water, etc. Do not more forward with the purchase until you've identified the culprit!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-17-2008
Retired and happy