Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2008

BTK111 is on a distinguished road
Beginner's questions

Hi All, I'm a beginner sailor looking for a good starter boat. I looked at a 22' Sailmaster(1964) and had a few concerns I wanted to find out about. First, when I lifted the floor boards in the cabin there was a couple inches of water under there. I was told this was a normal amount from rain drainage etc. Does that sound right? Second there is a small spot on the hull inside where it meets a bulkhead (not positive I'm using the correct term) and there appears to be some seperation and a small amount of water seepage. I'm wondering if this is a potentially serious problem or a more minor fix. I also have pictures of this spot if that could be more helpful. Thanks for your advice!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-29-2008

tschmidty is on a distinguished road
Pictures can only help, but you can't post them right away so you'd have to figure a way around that.

As far as the water in the bilge it really depends on where it is coming from as to how drastic the problem is. Some water seepage indicates delamination of the fiberglass but the damage should be visible from the outside as well (somewhere). Is the problem area you describe above or below the waterline?

In general, most people are going to say pass unless it is a super good deal. You are probably not paying enough to make a survey worthwhile but some ideas of your intended sailing would be good.
Old 11-29-2008
Unpaid Intern

josrulz is on a distinguished road