Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2009

hvacfellow is on a distinguished road
Which boat to choose?

Hello all,

I have been sailing for 2 years, and my wife and I want to go cruising full time since I just sold my company. I have about $80,000 to spend on a boat, and it would just be the two of us. We're in our mid-40s, and would like to start along the east coast of Canada, then head down to the Caribbean, and eventually go through the Panama canal to the South Pacific and Australia. We'd like a boat that's 35-40' long and can be single handed by either of us if necessary.

Some traits I like:
- skeg mount rudders, more rugged
- Bristol bite keel
- full shower (for wife),
- 2 enclosed births

I like the setup of a Crealock 37 (a little pricey though)

Sooooo.....the plan is to spend a few years in the Carib and then make for Australia. Sailnet bloggers, your suggestions are worth gold to me!

Sailingdog: If the 1st paragraph looks familiar, well... it was posted by you on your thread which helps newbies to ask appropriately worded questions. Well done. As strange as it sounds, your 'example' question mirrors (fairly closely) my scenario!

One more question Sailingdog: you have over 30,000 posts in less that 3 years.....do you work?? Don't mean to be critical, just curious. I think you are gold to this forum. Thanks.

Regards,
HVACfellow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 01-06-2009

patrickrea is on a distinguished road
I would go looking for a Fast Passage 39. Seakindly, well built (In Canada no less), comfortable layout for cruising. I got a look at one this past Thnanksgiving (Canadian versio) on Georgian Bay. This particular boat had been from Vancouver to Australia twice and then through the Panama Canal up to the St. Lawrence to Toronto and then up to Midland.