Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2009

orionmetzger is on a distinguished road
first boat advice

I'm looking for a starter daysailer for 1-4/weekend cruiser for 1-2, something that works in the atlantic (georgia and texas) and lakes (clarks hill lake in georgia). i know those are very different waters, but i'm in the military and those are my locked locations for the next 4 years.

i've never captained myself (class scheduled) but loved sailing with friends and family. i want a daysailer i can weekend on to see how i like living aboard for when i get out (once the army finishes training me as a nurse i'm going into travel nursing). also, military income limits my choices to 5-7k, roughly.

any advice on models or just general advice would be GREAT. thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-26-2009
Francophobe

TheFrog is on a distinguished road
I am in a smaller daysailer only boat. There are lots of options in that category. However, as you specify a preference for something to weekend in... Look at the Catalina 22. For your budget, use, and mobility it will probably be the best all around boat. Readily available, lots of people with experience, trailerable, and you can sleep aboard (might be a bit cramped but doable).

Quote:
Golf is an exercise in Scottish pointlessness for people who are no longer able to throw telephone poles at each other.
-Florence King

To get the most from Sailnet, follow the link in
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
's signature.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 01-26-2009

WanderingStar is on a distinguished road