Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2009

shakespearebro is on a distinguished road
make a porsche into a mini-van?

I am a novice sailor looking to buy my first boat. I learned to sail on a Laser and a 20’ O’Day sailor, so I am quite a landlubber. I want to go coastal cruising with my girlfriend around Chesapeake Bay and the ICW, then cap off a summer of cruising with a single triumphant run at the Bahamas. (The thought scares me now, but I hope I’ll have drastically improved my knowledge and skills with three months on the boat.)

I have the opportunity to get a fantastic deal on a Cal 9.2 (under $8000). Normally, I think the Cal 9.2 might not be the right boat for me (seems like she’s built more for speed than cruising), but my question is, should I take a great deal on a less than ideal boat if the deal is so good I might be able to re-rig and re-equip the boat for my intended purposes? My impression is that this boat is normally a $15-20K level boat, so I am under the impression that I could spend $10K or so to set the boat up exactly the way I need and still have a pretty good deal. In other words, should I buy a Porsche if the deal is so good I’d have enough money left over to make her over into a mini-van?

My knowledge of cruising is coming exclusively from reading. I have no practical experience at it at all. From what I’ve read, though, here is why I think the Cal 9.2 wouldn’t normally be the right boat for me and the things I might try to change on it: