SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Looking for Bluewater Cruiser

4K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  mskl 
#1 ·
Hi,
I'm new to sailnet. I sailed an old Tartan 30 for years, did a lot of offshore cruising, but was young and dumb. My kids are almost grown, and my wife and I want to get back to sailing beyond bareboating. I'm looking for a serious bluewater cruiser capable of long ocean voyages. I've read "Desirable and Undesirable Characteristics of Offshore yachts", "Seaworthiness", and now, I'm reading Calder's Offshore Cruising Guide. The common thread seems to be a heavier displacement boat with narrower beam, more volume underwater, fuller keel, etc. I'm glad I didn't know any of this when I was sailing in my 20's.

What do people think of the Pan Oceanics (43 and 46), the Westsails (42,43). They look very comfortable and, unfortunately, very slow. Safety is now my #1 priority. Any other suggestions.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Michael Smith
Weston, CT

#3 ·
What's your price range and desired length?

Based on the example you cited in your post, I'll assume you're looking for something in the 40-45' range. That being the case, I'd personally also check out the following:

Baba/Panda 40
Southern Cross 39
PSC 37/40
Cabo Rico 38/41
Halberg-Rassy 38-42
Valiant 40
Hans Christian 41/43
Shannon 38
TransWorld 41

That oughta keep you busy for a while!

#7 ·
By the way; we seem to be browsing the same market, except that I'm 3 - 5 years away from a purchase at that price point.

#8 ·
Welcome to the search. Try doing a forum search of "bluewater." I tried to post a link, but haven't chattered enough to qualify. :)