Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2009

mccnnll is on a distinguished road
Question Who gets my tax? New Hampshire or Massachusetts?

I want to buy a boat in Massachusetts but I am a resident of New Hampshire. I will be using the boat in New Hampshire almost exclusively. Will I have to pay tax on the boat at the Mass dealership or will I just pay the NH tax at my local agency when I register the boat?
Many apologies if this has been addressed already, but in the forums I mostly found Q & A's about living outside of NH and trying to avoid tax altogether on a purchase. I'll pay the tax, but not twice to two states!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-16-2009

SailKing1 is on a distinguished road
You should only have to pay tax where you are going to register the boat.
Old 02-16-2009

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
It is not cut and dry. In most cases, if you buy a boat in one state, that state will expect you to pay the sales tax in that state. There is typically an exception for the case where you buy a boat in one state, but remove it from that state within a stipulated period (somewhere between 30 and 90 days depending on the state law).

This is not as bad as it sounds however, because many states have reciprocity, so that if you pay the sales tax in one state when you buy the boat but move it to another, the state that you move it to will not require you to pay the sales tax over again, except in the case where the state where you bought the boat had lower sales tax than the state where you moved it in which case you typically have to pay any difference between the lower sales tax and the one in the state where the boat will be kept.

Since these laws vary from state to state, you need to research this with the individual states involved.