Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2009

manhattan08 is on a distinguished road
'79 Pearson '32

I am new to sailing and I am looking for a good deal on a used boat. I have chartered (on vacation) for a week in the bahamas on a '45 foot sailboat and was looking for something here on my local lake.

I saw a 1979 Pearson '31.5 ft (beam of 10ft) and wanted to get everyone's opinion of this boat. Is this a good boat in terms of ease of use, construction, and reliability?

I looked on the message boards and did not see "Pearson" as a specific boat for a discussion. Does this make go by a different name possilby?

The boat that I have seen has a tiller. Isn't that possibly too large of a boat to have a tiller?

Another boat I am also considering is a 26 ft Hunter constructed in 1982. Obviously the hunter will be cheaper and the slip fees will not be as bad given the smaller beam. I am split on which size boat to go after. The larger Pearson boat, large enough to house my family of four for a weekend or a hunter '26 that may possilby be a little tighter; however a little easier to maneuver though one that I will need to upsize from in a few years????

Too many pro's and con's to weigh - any helpful insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Last edited by manhattan08; 03-01-2009 at 08:13 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-01-2009

scottyt is on a distinguished road
pearson does make a good boat but i dont know anything but what i read. i dont know anything about the hunter 26 either but i own a 27 made in 83. hunterowners.com or something like that is a good place to start.