SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Help with general advice for first time boat! (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/53120-help-general-advice-first-time-boat.html)

michalex19 04-04-2009 03:23 AM

Help with general advice for first time boat!

Hello from Texas!
I'll be moving to San Fran soon and have been looking in to buying my first sailboat! I'm very excited! I have some sailing experience, but all lake and nothing fancy. I am planning on buying a boat that I could live on while I go to school and by the time i get out (about 2 years later)I will have done the proper upgrades to sail it to Asia and beyond or back (haven't decided that far ahead :). I have done some research and asked different people their advice, but any advice would be greatly appreciated! Many people recommend that I get at least a 40 foot boat, others have said 35 is plenty, and of course every boat is different as well, but I just don't want to go into this blind. Also, since I'll more than likely be buying a used boat, how can I tell if there is something majorly wrong with it? Thanks for the advice in advance!

alex

Mimsy 04-04-2009 08:31 AM

Its not the size that determines suitability it is the construction. There are lots of folks who circumnavigate/cruise in boats that are smaller than 35 feet. Some do it in boats under 30.

As to how to tell if something is majorly wrong, Sailingdog wrote out a very thoughtful and helpful thread here : http://www.sailnet.com/forums/buying...trip-tips.html

Spend the money for a really thorough, qualified surveyor. Yes, they are expensive until you realize that the $1,000 you just spent saved you almost $50,000 in boat repairs.Then their service becomes "cheap as chips".