Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2009
Flotsam

Loofa is on a distinguished road
First boat purchase 35ft. Columbia?

I am new to Sailnet, and have been reading so much on here about all the different sailboats and reviews. What I have not found much review on is the Columbia, I did read a few blurbs in other posts saying to avoid it but giving no reason why. Well I am debating purchasing a decent condition 35ft as a live-aboard and then later to learn to sail on. I wanted to get a 27-30ft to live/sail on but I found a good deal on this one. I understand that a 27ft range with tiller is ideal but this 35 footer is in the same price range as the 27 footers and since I want ample space to live aboard why not purchase this right?

Question is: Why is there a seemingly negative aura surrounding the Columbia boats? Should I just get a 27-30ft. instead for learning purposes and deal with less space? Thanks

-Loofa
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-26-2009
Here .. Pull this

Sailormann will become famous soon enough
Columbia boats are no worse and no better than many other boats out there. If the 35 foot boat is selling for the same price as the 27 foot boat, there are probably several things wrong with the 35 foot boat.

Read a bit and find out what it costs to maintain a 35 foot boat. It's a lot of money. Repairing and replacing things on a boat that size costs about twice as much as repairing and maintaining things on a 30 foot boat.

Stick with the smaller boat until you learn a bit about what you are doing. Trust me, you will regret biting off more than you can chew...

Good Luck !
Old 04-27-2009
Flotsam