Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2009

peptobysmol is on a distinguished road
Hunter 23 need help

I'm a rank amateur when it comes boat purchases so please humor me for asking this...
These are pics of the keel bolts. I've noticed that there are some cracks around them. Aside from this the boat looks to be excellently cared for and well maintained. Yes, sailingdog, I looked at your thread to guide my thoughts for this purchase.

bah i'm new at posting pics as well
boat pics 164 on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
So is this a deal buster?

Last edited by peptobysmol; 06-24-2009 at 12:08 PM. Reason: fixing pics
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-24-2009

bump...

I'm thinking about buying the boat today so if ANYONE can help me please post your comment whether or not this is a walk-away issue. THANKS a MILLION!
Old 06-24-2009

davidpm is on a distinguished road
There is some crushing of the glass but the bolts themselves look good.
You could rather easily add a stainless backing plate.

I'm not expert but I'm thinking that this could be OK if:
There is no evidence externally of the keel being a problem.
If these were the center bolts that would be ideal as that would indicate that the keel didn't move but maybe the nuts were torqued down too much.
If they are the forward bolts I would look very very carefully in the bilge, if you can get to it for signs of cracking just above where the keel connects to the boat both bow and stern side.
In a hard grounding a lot of damage can be done by the keel being forced back wards.

Does the bilge leak?
In short it could be OK but if you can find a knowledgeable person to look for you it would be great.
You are looking for subtleties that are hard to see.