Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2009

yippeekayay is on a distinguished road
Budget and Boats

Just need to know what forum to post this but I am new to buying a sailboat and have a budget of 8500 give or take. I will be sailing off the southern coast of Texas, near Port Lavaca and in the bays. I want to use it for weekends mostly in the Bays/protected water but I would like to take her out in the Gulf of Mexico on good days.

1. What is the smallest size I can get away with? And what are your recommendations for brand of boats that would best fit my needs in salt water areas mentioned above?

2. I've looked in many sites and cant seem to find what im looking for. Does anyone know where to look or if they know of a good dealer in the texas area.

Right now I have been looking at the Hunter 25 footer but I want to know if there are better brands to be looking at. I don't really care about cosmetics, just want something strong and dependable.

Thank you,
Brandon
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-25-2009
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Yippeekayay—

First, welcome to Sailnet. I'd highly recommend you read this POST to help you get the most out of sailnet.

Second, you really shouldn't be posting variants of the same post in multiple threads.

Third, you really need to figure out what you want in a boat before you go running around looking to buy one. The best way to do this is to figure out what you want to do with the boat, and then work backwards from that to what boats will be best suited for it. Are you looking for a trailerable boat or one that you'll keep in the water? Trailerable boats are often far less expensive to own, but often not as seaworthy.