Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2009

CKH is on a distinguished road
Blistering

Blistering seems to be a big issue, and a serious problem, with sailboats.
And because I have no knowledge, training or experience in the subject matter, any explanations, simple or scientific, will be wasted on me.
This brief survey, however, will help me greatly.
Thank you in advance for your help. This could be a teachable moment for me.
Would all boat owners who have had their boat sink due to blistering as the original causal factor simply list here the:

Length - Year Keel Laid - Manufacturer - Date Of Loss
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-05-2009
Mark on Camper 58

NICHOLSON58 is on a distinguished road
Blistering

The short answer to your question is that it is extremely rare for a boat to sink due to blistering. If you pull and inspect your boat on any reasonable periodic schedule it will be quite plain to the eye if blistering is present. A surveyor can yelp you too if you search out one with a trained eye for that sort of problem. If you are looking at any boat older than 1990 you can almost bet on some blistering. Structural blisters are large and tend to be quite obvious to a trained eye.