Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2009

Schuyler is on a distinguished road
Possible First Boat - 70s Oday 22

Okay, so I've been boat shopping. This one wasn't at the top of my list of desired boats, but the owner is a friend who has to get rid of it quick and dropped the price to a third of the asking ($1,500). Seeing as how I'm new to sailing and boat owner ship, I'd like see what you guys thought. It's a bit of a fixer-up, but I'm prepared and actually looking forward to spending time getting her spiffed up.

1971 O-day 22' includes some worn sails and trailer. I'm told the Bottom Paint is somewhat new. The lines are old, but look usable. The boat itself looks like it's been sitting un-touched on the trailer for awhile. Tires are low/flat. The deck really needs paint. There are a few voids on the transom.. and probably 30 other small things need fixing

There is standing water in the cabin. Not a lot, and it appears to be entering through the companionway hatch that isn't very secure. Should be a simple fix (or tarp it)

I noticed this void where the trailer attaches. I assume it's not serious?

Last edited by Schuyler; 09-09-2009 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-09-2009

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
Is the price $1500, or 1/3 of $1500 ??

That boat looks suspiciously familiar to the one described in this recent thread:

Apples to Oranges

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62

NEVER CALLS CRUISINGDAD BACK....CAN"T TAKE THE ACCENT
Old 09-09-2009

Yup.... appears to be the same boat. The price was negotiated to $1,500.
Old 09-09-2009
Banned

lporcano is on a distinguished road
seeya