Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2009

brainiac is on a distinguished road
Outboard recommendations for newbie

Hello all,

The other day I became a new sailboat owner. I'm pretty new at this - I sailed only a few times - and although I spent plenty of time on the water as a kid, this is my first boat of my own.

The boat is a 78 MacGregor 22'. It needs an outboard motor. I'm looking for recommendations on purchasing a new motor. How big? What make & model?

Cheers!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-24-2009

ahab211 is on a distinguished road
yamaha longshafts are good. 4 cycles are even better. Good luck
Old 10-24-2009

fullkeel7 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainiac View Post

The boat is a 78 MacGregor 22'. It needs an outboard motor. I'm looking for recommendations on purchasing a new motor. How big? What make & model?

Cheers!
Shouldn't need more than a 4 or 5 hp. OB unless you're dealing with some strong currents in your area. I had a great little 4 hp, 4 stroke Yamaha on a full keeled Typhoon (2K lbs). Plenty of power against the wind on the ICW...so it should do a good job for you on your Mac-22.
Old 10-24-2009
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
I wouldn't got much larger than a Tohatsu 3.5 HP four-stroke on that boat. Anything larger is going to be about 70 lbs or more and cause the boat to squat.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps