Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2009

davidpm is on a distinguished road
Sea Trial

I'm just a newbie hear and while I've looked at dozens of boats and been involved in several purchases and sales I've never been on a sea trial. My buys have always been emergency buys, don't ask.

Who is aboard for the seatrial?
Who drives the boat?
How long is it.
What exactly do you check for?

The Dogs checklist seems to be mostly pre-seatria.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-11-2009
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
David—

My checklist is just to determine if the boat is even worthy of getting a proper survey and sea trial on...so, it doesn't cover that.

A sea trial generally has at least three people aboard—you, your surveyor and a broker's representative.

Who drives the boat—it depends, but you should ask to take your turn at the controls. However, the broker's representative should take the boat out of the marina and dock it... as they're on the hook for any damage that occurs during those two times, and those are the two stages of the sea trial where risk of collision is highest.

Length is highly variable. The bigger and more complex the boat, the longer the sea trial usually is. Also, it depends if you're going to be motoring the boat or sailing the boat as well.

A sea trial is done to check the performance of the diesel in-board and other systems, like the in-mast furling, should the boat be so equipped, which are difficult or dangerous to check or assess on the hard.

Hope that helps.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England