Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2003

jeffwas is on a distinguished road
hunter vc mac

what is the general consensus about Hunter 260 vs Macgregor 26? It seems that the Hunters cost more, and the 260 (most equivalent to the 26x) is larger than the legal beam width for legal trailering in many states. It seems like there is less interior room also. In return, it seems like a better constructed boat, and probably sails better. The Mac is billed as a power boat also, while there is no mention of this on the Hunter website with regards to the 260. It seems you cannot put a motor greater than 10hp on the Hunter, and therefore, what value is it to have water ballast, except for lower trailer weight? It doesn''t seem like you can make faster time to a distant sailing site.

What do you experts think? I am a novice looking to purchase my first boat, and need something that can do a number of things. This boat will see action in the mid gulf coast.

Thanks!

Jeff
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-16-2003

Sailmc is on a distinguished road
hunter vc mac

No boat can do everything. The more things you try to design into a boat the poorer it will do everything. The Mac will be a poor sailboat and a poor powerboat. If you really want to sail buy the Hunter. If you want a powerboat then buy one. There are also better choices than the Hunter. Sailboats other than dingys are displacement boats. This means their maximun speed is limited and adding extra horsepower will do little or no good. In order to make the Mac go they have designed it to plane. This is not the type of hull you would want to take into the Gulf. As to the water ballast, the reduction in trailering weight is an important factor to anyone who intends to do so. The Mac concept is an idea that no other sailboat builder has chosen to use. Think about that.
Old 01-16-2003