Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2003

pmcandrew is on a distinguished road
Seidelmann 25

In my never-ending quest looking for the right sailboat, I came across a 1984 Seidelmann in need of some work. Basically, the engine needed an overhaul. It was pulled six months ago, and the owner has failed to come up with the money to pay for the overhaul. I have extensive background in engine rebuilding (automotive and marine gas), so this particular project interested me.

I have searched past posts and found that Seidelmann doesn''t have the greatest reputation. That aside, the boat has good lines (in my opinion), is very beamy, looks like a racer, but lacks headroom. My question is, what can I resonably expext the resale value to be, and would a boat like this sell? BUC value is $7000 to $8100, but everything I''ve seen listed on the net (what little there is) is more like $5000 or less. I think the owner will let this go for 2k or less - basically what he owes. It also needs a new main and is due for a bottom job. The inside needs cleaning up and the rudder post is sloppy. While the price seems right, my long term plan is to eventually graduate to something larger, so I don''t want to get stuck with either a) a boat I sell for half what I have in it, or b) a boat very few people are interested in at all. Already have enough family heirlooms!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Patrick
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-04-2003

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Seidelmann 25

Given the condition the boat is probably worth maybe $2000 or so. Cleaned up, everything working and with a new mainsail the boats are probably worth $4000 or so.