Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1266Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2011

Chimbatete is on a distinguished road
Paulo,

Seems to me that a boat with an open cockpit with enough weight is the way to go for offshore contrary to what you read in forums like this one.

I'm pretty new to sailing (5 years) starting crewing for my wifes uncle. I sail in Lake Ontario and I'm surprised that even hardened racers of 30 years have never ventured out of the lake. At the same time 70% of the boats are C&C and CS. But in a way its a good lesson on following reality (what you are really going to use the boat for) instead of fantasy (rounding cape horn) when getting a boat. But to me, I want to be able to know that I can reach the Carribean in our winters when I get older given the option.

Anyway, my contribution being from Canada. (Underrated country with great boat building traditions.

The Gozzard 41. I love this family run company and with their bulletproof hulls and innovative interiors. Highest quality throughout. It just seems like a very traditional slow boat and I also cant afford one.

YouTube - ‪Gozzard 41.mov‬‏

Last edited by Chimbatete; 05-23-2011 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-23-2011

PCP will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimbatete View Post

Seems to me that a boat with an open cockpit with enough weight is the way to go for offshore contrary to what you read in forums like this one.

Weight as little to do with offshore sailing. There are heavy boats that are pigs as well as light boats.

Take a look at this light boat and this solo sailor on the roaring fifties. Is not this seaworthiness enough for you? Is this not a great offshore boat?

YouTube - ‪Beluga Racer in Southern Ocean‬‏

YouTube - ‪Southern Ocean‬‏