Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1266Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2011

Chimbatete is on a distinguished road
Talking

Hi Paulo,

That is a very interesting comparative between the Daysailer and the Malango. Not expected and not so good for the proponents of more beamy modern hulls. Id like to know more details.

Is it fair to say that in light winds, the more classic narrow hulls like an e33 daysailer (love the boat) would beat the pogo 10.50 or First 30 upwind? and even downwind??

Remember I'm new to this asking these weird questions.

Last edited by Chimbatete; 10-27-2011 at 10:28 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-28-2011

bjung is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCP View Post
Half surprise from Halber-Rassy: What seemed to be an isolated experience with the 372 has turning now on a new line. HR is making a new aft cockpit boat, the HR 412.

On HR, Only boats smaller than 37ft were aft cockpit boats, the offshore HR were basically center cockpit boats but now, with the sells from the 37 center cockpit much worse than the ones from the 372 (aft cockpit) and losing sales to the new line of cruising boats from X yachts, HR decided to offer a 41ft boat with an aft cockpit. The 40ft center cockpit boat will be maintained.

This boat is also the first beamy HR: 4.11m. The old center cockpit 40ft had only 3.82m.

The boat share similar characteristics with the XC-42 but it seems to me that the XC has a more modern design and surprisingly a bit better D/B ratio.

Anyway, a more modern and good looking HR is always good news. The basic price of the new boat will be around: 435 000 Ä
Paulo,
I think the reasoning for HR to build a larger 372, was not out of pressure by X yachts, but simply dictated by the immense success of the 372. In 2 years, HR built more than 70 HR372's. I would be interrested how many XC 38's have been built.