Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1262Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2012

Chimbatete is on a distinguished road
Re: Interesting Sailboats

Paulo

Two questions on those A40 boats for sale. (understand that Im relatively new to sailing) First of all they are beautiful boats and would fit the need of 99% of those who race around the cans and regattas. Inside they are beautiful too.

Do you think that these boats are at a good discount because they are not as fast as the new boats like you say or is it because theyve been raced hard?

Second, wouldnt a fast boat like the A27 be racing under ratings? I have read that some boats are too penalized for racing that they would require high levels of sailing to win.
Old 04-01-2012

PCP will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimbatete View Post
Paulo

Two questions on those A40 boats for sale. (understand that Im relatively new to sailing) First of all they are beautiful boats and would fit the need of 99% of those who race around the cans and regattas. Inside they are beautiful too.

Do you think that these boats are at a good discount because they are not as fast as the new boats like you say or is it because theyve been raced hard?

Second, wouldnt a fast boat like the A27 be racing under ratings? I have read that some boats are too penalized for racing that they would require high levels of sailing to win.
If you really want to win on handicap on club racing probably you should look for some easy old boat with a low rating, I don't know. Personally I would not give a dam about that and would be interested in finishing first in real time among boats of that size and in middle of much bigger boats and it seems that start's to be a tendency.

Besides this boat will teach you how to sail, I mean in a boat like this all trims count and this boat has an huge trimming possibility.