Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2010

jwreck is on a distinguished road
Top 3

So, after looking at what feels like 100o boats in the last few weeks, I've narrowed my choices to three. As I've said before, I'm new to sailing but not to boating. I plan on about 60% daysailing, 35% coastal cruising, and 5% voyaging into the Carribean (from the Galveston area). Also becoming a full time live aboard. So the finalist are...

1. '88 C&C 38' MK III. Needs the most work of the three. Extensively (and successfully) raced on the Great Lakes for years. Spots of crazed gellcoat and leaky portlights. Although at this moment I have no interest in racing, this boat just calls to me for some reason I can't really explain. I know some would say that's the worst reason to buy a boat, while others say that's the only reason to buy a boat.

2. '95 Hunter Vision 360. Beautiful and roomy on the inside. Love the concept of the stayless rig. Best suited for live-aboard. Definitely a party boat/dock condo and all that comes with that. While technically everything I'm looking for, it doesn't make my heart go pitter-patter, ya know?

3. '88 Catalina 34'. Excellant shape. Meticulously maintained. Least expensive of the three (by about $10K). Suitable in every way. Safe choice. Already has all the electronic goodies like radar and chartplotter. Again, doesn't blow my skirt like the C&C but more exciting than the Hunter.

Any thoughts on these three choices would be greatly appreciated.

PS I plan to singlehand often as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-01-2010

olson34 is on a distinguished road
Red face apples and oranges?