Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2010

CaptinRedBeard is on a distinguished road
Ranger 26 issue's

I'm a novice sailor looking to purchase my first boat. In 3 days I'm going to look at a Ranger 26 and race it with the owner in a local regatta. I've read a lot about the Ranger 26 (Gary Mull, ect) and it appears to be a great starter boat that I'm hoping to be able to single hand with confidence.

So I know all the good stuff but now I need to know the bad stuff since everything has it's weakness. So far one person told me that replacement parts can be tough to come by so fabrication is usually necessary and can be expensive. Any other common issues anyone can think of?

The boat is a 1973, no major bells or whistles, a 2002 mercery 5hp 2-stroke. All sails and rigging are reported to be in good condition but i currently haven't seen any maintance records and have no clue when the rigging was last replaced, the owner sails the boat regularly (usually 3 times per week). He seems very proud of the boat which I hope is an indicatior that he has taken good care of it. I'm sure the boat has seen some rough sea's because the owner said he has made 6 interisland cruises in the last year (in Hawaii, from Oahu to Maui, Molakai, and Lanikai.) Once again please only post up the things that are known issue's with these boats.

Your Help is much appreaciated.
Also does anyone have any idea what a survey would cost for a boat like this?

everyone has a little captain in them
-Captain Morgan-
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-15-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
If the boat's rigging hasn't been replaced, it is likely that you should have it inspected by a rigger. Thirty-seven years is a long time for rigging...