Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2010

Zolmes77 is on a distinguished road
help buying a 27-30

I am new to sailing and wanting to buy a cruiser for my wife and I. She says it has to have a shower and plenty of cabin room. I would like for the two of use to be able to handle it with out killing ourselves. our budget is anything around 10000. any ideas??
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-09-2010

GreatWhite is on a distinguished road
the admirals seem to like the very abundant Catalina 27s but I am not a huge fan of them for their so-so build quality and tubby lines..but they seem to get a lot of people sailing so something to consider.

I like the Cal 27... better quality

I also like the C&C 27 except for the gas atomic ...but can be ok if the engine can/will and has been maintained.

Outboard motors are easier if you don't have to worry about fighting big wind and waves (prop can come out of the water.)

SJ 28...roomy and decent too
Old 04-09-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Good luck with that... most boats <35' do not have a shower. Most older boats do not have a shower. With the budget you have, you're not going to be able to buy a boat with a shower more likely than not.

There are a lot of good boats that you could buy, but it really depends on what kind of sailing you want to do with it. If you're just coastal cruising and day sailing, then any of the older production boats would probably do you well. The more modern designs, like the Pearson, Catalina, Hunter, etc, are going to be more spacious than the older designs like the Albergs, Cape Dorys and such.