Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2010

kinse26 is on a distinguished road
O'day mariner sea capabilities?

Hi there,

I'm considering buying a 1970 O'day mariner 19. I have little experience sailing and have discovered through research that this is a good stable, safe boat to learn on.
I live in Newfoundland where there are many sheltered bays in which to sail but it is almost always windy which of courses creates a fair bit of choppy water.
I am wondering if the mariner 19 is a good, safe boat for salt water (not the open ocean) but large open bays. It appears that most people use this boat on fresh water lakes.
I have also been looking into the sandpiper 565.
If anyone has any advice on the sea capabilities of either of these boats, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 05-17-2010

klem is on a distinguished road
There are many mariners out there doing coastal sailing and they are suited just fine to it. Very few of the ones that I have seen or sailed on have been set up for reefing so you would probably need to do that if it tends to be windy. They are not the fastest boat in a chop but they still move along just fine although they are a bit wet.

I believe that there were both centerboard and keel models and you would probably want to look for a keel model.
Old 05-17-2010

kinse26 is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the advice Klem. The boat that I am looking at is a centreboard model.
Old 05-17-2010

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
Don't remember if the Mariner had an open or self-bailing cockit. If not self-bailing, that would be a concern.
Old 05-18-2010

scotthenry is on a distinguished road
ODay Mariner 19