Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2010

mistershoes is on a distinguished road
What is this boat?

I've found what is supposedly a 21ft O'day for $50. But as far as I know (i'm new to sailing) O'day didn't make a 21ft sailboat. Here are a couple pics. Also, do you think it's worth picking up?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
What is this boat?-mystery-boat-2.jpg   What is this boat?-mystery-boat.jpg  
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-02-2010

blt2ski will become famous soon enough
Looks like an oday, look here for oday info. I did not see that model listed, but then again, O'day made many varieties of boats.

Marty
Old 08-03-2010

paul323 is on a distinguished road
Nothing so expensive as a free boat...

I would take a close (and honest) look at what it would take to make her seaworthy - how is the mast, boom, rigging (standing and running), sails, rudder, tiller, hull, anchor, etc etc. Remember a block can cost $50, and you could need half a dozen - marine paints and varnished are really expensive - so think through everything you'll need to buy to make her shipshape.

Now make a shopping list; use the web to price things up, then add 25% (at least, because there is always the unexpected).

Now estimate the time it'll take you to fix her up, and add at least 50% to that (believe me, it'll be around double what you guess).

Now look at how much it will really cost you, and how much time...then make the call. I restored a boat in a similar condition - it was a labor of love, and I loved doing it - but jump in with your eyes open because it'll probably be a slow and expensive process!

Good luck.
Old 08-03-2010

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about