If I buy this actual boat (1979 O'Day 28) what will yearly cost be? - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2010

jmfell is on a distinguished road
If I buy this actual boat (1979 O'Day 28) what will yearly cost be?

Hi All-

Although, I've been on boats for most of my life, I am just learning to actually sail and I would like to purchase my first boat. I'm looking for rough averages about what it would cost to own a boat. I have a budget of 10K for the initial purchase. I'm looking for a 27 - 30 sailboat that will be comfortable for weekend trips and still fun to sail. A few questions:

1) Pros and cons of this boat - 1979 O'Day 28 (boats.com/boat-details/O'day-Sloop/22246501)
2) Any other suggestions for sailboats?
3) If I bought that boat (or similar), what do you think would be a ballpark yearly average I would spend on storage and maintenance on a sailboat of this age?

Thanks in advance for any feedback. Great forum here!

-jf
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-04-2010

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about
You will spend as much as you have to spare, and no more.
Seriously.

I need more info. Where do you live? Do you plant to keep the boat in a marina in a slip, or on a mooring?
Old 08-04-2010

emoney is on a distinguished road
Welcome to the "New Sailors Club".