Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2010

DubeJ is on a distinguished road
First Boat Search

Hey everyone, I am looking for my first boat. I have been sailing for a few years, and am comfortable but never have REALLY done serious sailing, as in never more than 2-3 hours out at a time. I rent boats from a military base, as it is the most affordable around. That said, you cannot do much with the boats and they are not allowed to overnight. Sooooo
I am looking to purchase my first boat. I have a budget of a few k, and it seems that there are a few options out there. I am looking for something around 22-30 ft, and in good enough condition to sail without too much work. know that with an older ship, there will always be a bit of work, but you know what I mean.
Any way, the point of this thread: I have seen a few options and I am wondering what people's opinion of different ships are as in, Catalina, Hunter, Lancer, Macgregor, Ericson...etc...
I really don't know too much, again this is my first one, and I apologize if this is already a thread, so do not get to technical please. I like to just keep stuff simple....
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-15-2010

dhays is on a distinguished road
Where are you going to be sailing?
Who will be sailing with you?
What kind of balance between comfort and sailing performance are you looking for?
S/V Legacy, Catalina 400 MkII, Hull #328
My Blog on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 10-15-2010

DubeJ is on a distinguished road
I will be sailing the southern coast of California. When it comes to all that you mentioned, I do not know the difference. I have only sailed Catalinas, so I would not be able to compare. I think more relax is my thing, so not really looking to get anywhere fast.
Old 10-15-2010
Chastened