Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2003

jettygirl is on a distinguished road
opinion - Cape Dory 25 d- Morgan 28 OI-Privateer 26

seeking opinions -suggestions on 3 boats ....
although I have limited experience sailing
I have a deep desire , lots of time and plenty of water.
1) Morgan 28 out islander 1969
2) Privateer 26 1967
3) Cape Dory 25 D 1984

Thanks for all input.
Linnea
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 05-09-2003

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about

To really get a proper answer to this question you really should supply more information about what you are trying to accomplish with these boats. In other words;
-Is your goal to really learn to sail well? (all three would make pretty poor choices for that goal with the Cape Dory being the best of the three.)
-Is your goal to live aboard?
(The Morgan would be the best of the three if you don''t care about sailing ability as well.)
-Are you on a tight budget?
(The Privateer should be the best of the three.)
-Where do you plan to sail?
-Are you athletic or looking for something that won''t be too physically challenging?

- and that kind of information.

Sometimes when I look at a list of boats that someone is evaluating the choices have a lot in common so you can get a sense of what that person is trying to accomplish. These are such divergent designs and so out of character with what I would ever recommend to someone how is trying to learn how to sail, that I guess I need to ask, "Why just these three?"

Respectfully,
Jeff

Old 05-09-2003

Thankyou Jeff for your reply as well as your questions.