Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2010

BCW1 is on a distinguished road
Yacht purchase in California

Hi all

My Dad is in the market for a yacht to sail back to Australia (from California).

My Dad is a New Zealand citizen, and Australian resident.
I am an Australian citizen, and a US permanent resident (currently living in California).

We have a few questions re purchasing a yacht.... I hope you can help us out.

1. When my Dad (a New Zealand citizen, Australian resident) buys a used (not new) yacht in California, will he need to pay Sales Tax on top of the listing price?

2. What other Govt fees are incurred when buying or registering the used yacht?

3. Can the yacht be registered in my Dad's (NZ citizen) name? Or is it smarter to register the yacht in my name (I am a US permanent resident)?
If registered in my name, will I have to pay Sales Tax?

4. If the yacht is to be registered in my Dad's name, how long can he keep the yacht in the US?

5. If the best option is to register the yacht in my name (a US resident), what fees and process do we need to follow to then transfer registration to my Dad before he sails back to Australia?

6. Does the money spent on the yacht from the purchase date to the export date (such as repairs, new sails, etc) qualify as Sales Tax free? Can the Sales Tax money be reimbursed upon export? If yes, how is this done?

Thanks in advance!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-30-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCW1 View Post
Hi all

My Dad is in the market for a yacht to sail back to Australia (from California).

My Dad is a New Zealand citizen, and Australian resident.
I am an Australian citizen, and a US permanent resident (currently living in California).