Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2011

TJMAC is on a distinguished road
Advice Please

Hello,
I'm pretty new to sailing(but not to boating in general), and would really appreciate some advice from the knowledgeable members here. I'm in my early 30's, single, no kids(that I know of) and am in the process of selling my business which will allow me to spend a year or two learning seamanship and sailing 24/7 if I wish(and I very much do!). Over the last month I've been doing quite a bit of research on different yachts in anticipation of realizing my dream. Ideally I'd love to find something that will be forgiving during my learning curve yet not something that I outgrow or get bored with after having the opportunity of sailing as much as I wish . In time( when I think or more importantly when very experienced sailors think) I'm ready, I'd like to do some island hopping, long distance cruising and ocean passages. Again, when I'm ready, some of this will be single handed or the longer,more challenging sailing will be with 1 or 2 others with at least one whom is experienced. So far I've narrowed it down to these- 1.Pogo( a pre owned 10.50, or 8.50 or maybe even a 40 that could be found for less than $200k)
2. Sunfast 3200- new or a year or 2 old
3. Akilaria 9.50 or pre owned 40
4. Some kind of pre owned open 40 style.
It's probably apparent that I'm a big fan of open transom style yachts and a lush interior is not a priority in the least. Set up for short or single handing, under $200k,livable for a month or more of exploring, between 32-40 feet,safe as possible and ocean crossing abilities are paramount. If it helps, I'll be sailing out of Naples Fla. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-16-2011

MarkCK is on a distinguished road