Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2001

freewill is on a distinguished road
Older Jeanneau''''s any good?

Anyone have info on the older line of Jeanneau Sailboats? Can''t seem to find much information on them.
thanks for any help
howie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-08-2001

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about

What sort of information are you looking for? I have some experience with older Jeaneaus, especially the 40. I thought they were pretty junky boats, basically a couple steps down from a Beneteau. To me, in many ways, they are sort of the French equivilent to a Hunter. By that I mean boats that were built to be affordable. They sail reasonably well, had reasonable but not great standard hardware and they can be problematic over time. Unlike the Hunters, they do not tend to meet all of the US safety standards of the era in which they were built. (Dispite the so called general "common knowledge", Hunter does and excellent job of meeting all of the ABYC standards and Coast Guard regs and their general systems are well engineered.)

Jeff
Old 02-08-2001

freewill is on a distinguished road

Jeff,
Thanks for the reply, we had owned a Hunter 27 and if a Jeanneau is the same quality or less then maybe we''ll keep looking elsewhere!
Old 02-11-2001

halyardz is on a distinguished road

My opinion is similar to Jeff''s. Back in the mid 80s when I was looking, I checked out Catalinas, Hunters and Jeanneaus 22-28ft) too but finally bought a Beneteau. In my
opinion, the French boats have a tendency to
be designed for weekending and not long range
coastal cruising.

The older Catalinas just didn''t have good
cabin space, the Jennys seemed like a knock
off of the Beneteaus with lower grade gear,
and the Hunters were for the "really" budget