Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2011

kolyea is on a distinguished road
approx refit cost

Howdy ya'll, first post here. To preface I've been around boats my entire life, grew up around power and sail boats and even lived an a catalina 30 for a year as a child. For highschool I went to a Naval academy in Florida where I truely learned how to sail bymyself.

for the last month or so I've been heavily looking into purchasing my first personal boat. I am confident enough in both my sailing ability and dexterity to reffinish a boat, I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade, and while that doesn't entirely translate into boats it does give me experience overcoming problems I'm unfamiliar with bymyself. The only thing I'm not as confident about depth of my pocket book.

If I purchase a structuarlly sound (well, as far as boats go) boat for $5,000 will it take $50,000 worth of love? I'm looking for something that has a good deck in need of new paint (no soft spots but no nonslip either,) has a cabin with decent floors but is in need of a new sole ( I would not use teak, either paint or use the rubber/gelcoat matts), and needs other odds and ends like light engine servicing, new cushions, etc. is <5,000 for the boat and <15,000 for refinishing reasonable? I see excellent condition c30s and the like going for 20,000 all day so I imagine I could get a beat up boat and put 10,00 worth of my labor and the internet's supplys into it and be proud.

In the aviation industry anything you'd buy for a plane will run you atleast a grand, a simple new yoke for a be58 will be atleast a grand, new carpeting for the 20 sq foot enterior will be several several grand, and so on. I'm afraid that because boating is also a luxury it'll share the same million percent mark up.