My first daysailor any suggestions? - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-03-2003 Thread Starter

My first daysailor any suggestions?

I have read many of the great posts on this site and I was hoping to learn from all of your great advice regarding my specific situation. I am new to sailing and have really enjoyed the sport thus far. I have done most of my sailing on Flying Scots. A fun boat but to be honest, I have found the straight back seats in the cockpit a bit uncomfortable on longer sails.

Im interested in getting a boat roughly 18-23 feet long that I can trailer. I live in the Washington DC area and a good portion of the sailing I do is on the Potomac River, which regularly has fairly light winds. I''m looking for a boat that would sell well under these circumstances. In addition, I would like to have a stable boat that I could trailer and sail safely on the Chesapeake Bay.

Other considerations My wife would like a boat that has a small cabin with a head and some form of galley. I would put more weight on a boat that has a larger and more comfortable cockpit. In addition, the part of the Potomac where we sail can get quite shallow at points so I was thinking that because of this and weight considerations, that a fix keel boat may not be the best though not out of the question.

I can spend up to $10,000 but would prefer to spend a bit less so that I will have money left over to equip the boat. I have been seriously considering a Precision 21. I also really like the Rhodes 22 but it seems a bit out of my price range. Any suggestions on what I should be looking for or other boats to consider?
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-03-2003

FRR