Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2001

halyardz is on a distinguished road
BUYING OLDER BOATS & MARKET TIMING

There is a wealth of knowledge out there about older (pre-90 lets say) cruising boats.
And being a researcher by trade, I''m really
feeling the desire to conduct a systematic
survey and share the results. Is that a good
idea?

In addition to that, many of the posting have
noted market timing, general economic trends,
Some noted that its good for owners of classics because they are actually increasing
in value. That''s good for the owners, not the
buyers, right? Let''s review the videotapes
and ask you folks to drag out the crystal balls...assume we want safe hulls, rigs, etc.and that 90% will not venture to deep
blue water.

What well found boats in the 30-40ft class are actually overpriced right now?
Which ones are still bargains? When will the
price winds change in the short term? Why?

Damn, I''m sounding like an editor too. But,
I see all this collective wisdom and experience out there and would like to turn it to the benefit of the buyers. (Which will
include me in a year or so).
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-11-2001

JohnDrake is on a distinguished road

I have the two vol set, "Practical Boat Buying" and find it very valuable. Most of the reviews contain price graphs which show an interesting trend. Almost all older boats dropped in price until 1992, then there was a sharp increase. My inference (also has a researcher by trade) is that this corresponded to the increase in the market leading to many people''s feeling of greater wealth.

Based on my personal search for my next boat and some observations in the market, I do not think we can predict the future from the past.