Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2003

ogc is on a distinguished road
Boats to learn on

Please tell me brand names and model numbers of good boats to learn on (family boats) in the 25-30'' range as that is the size range I would ultimately like to sail in. Also, if you can give me a good rule of thumb to use when pricing these boats. I have heard $1000/foot, $500/foot, etc. for a good, used boat in average condition, one that will not need major repairs, hopefully, for a few years at least. I would very much like to find a boat in that range to learn to sail in the waters at the coast of the Carolinas and Virginia but don''t want to break the bank. I am somewhat new to the sport but I love it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-11-2003

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Boats to learn on

There are a lot of excellent boats out there to learn to sail on. You don''t stipulate the size of your family which would generally be a factor. In a general sense it is easier to learn sail trim and boat handling on a comparatively small and responsive boat. I noarmally suggest something around 25 to 26 feet, sloop rigged, tiller steered, fixed fin keel/spade rudder, and comparatively light weight. There are a huge number of boats that fit that description and frankly you can find a boat like that in reasonably good shape for as little as $4000 and as much as $50/60K. My best advice is stick with a used boat that is maybe 10-15 or so years old (although there are a lot of very good 20-25 year old boats that will be less expensive to buy and if properly maintained no more expensive to own). You are probably looking at boats in the $8,000 to $20,000 price range.