SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   First Boat - Pearson 26 vs Seafarer 26 (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/76940-first-boat-pearson-26-vs-seafarer-26-a.html)

Sailski3 07-29-2011 11:18 AM

First Boat - Pearson 26 vs Seafarer 26

I am purchasing my first boat and have been looking at used boats for a few months now. I have limited experience at sailing. I have over the years taken out daysailors like sunfish, sailfish, hobie cats and lightenings on inland lakes and bays. I have crewed a few times on larger boats as well. I recently attended an ASA class in sailing in preparation for ownership. I have found two boats that seem to be in very good condition for their age - a 1979 Pearson 26 and a 1980 Seafarer 26. They seem to be somewhat different in nature with the Pearson having a a larger displacement and a larger sail plan to drive her. I intend to sail the boat I purchase on the Chesapeake and Delaware bays initially, with an eye to coastal cruising after gaining appropriate experience. My question, like most newbie's on here is for some opinions from those of you familiar with or having sailed or owned these boats. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

paul323 07-29-2011 12:13 PM

I sail occasionally on a friend's P26 in the San Francisco bay. Like all Pearsons, she is a well-built, well-designed boat - as you probably know, Pearsons have an excellent reputation as a boatbuilder. Still very competitive in our Beer-Can racing. As you would expect from a 26' boat, the accommodations are a bit cramped for a cruise of more than a few days, but are better than many boats that size. They have upgraded her to an asymetric spinnaker, which works very well.

The boat I sail in has a tiller, and is fine for 3 people in the cockpit, but can be a bit cramped with 5 - again, what you would expect with a 26 footer.